Beer Bread

As I think I’ve mentioned before OH is quite talented at making beer, and he recently made a big keg full to take to a party. After the party believe it or not there was some left over and I’ve spent a few days trying to find some recipes to use the beer up rather than see it go to waste. Earlier in the week we had a lovely sausage and ale casserole and last night I decided to have a go at this recipe for beer bread to go with the spag bol we were having for dinner.

I left out the sultana and ginger as I wanted the bread to be more savoury to go with the meal. Unfortunately the bread took so long to rise it wasn’t ready for dinner, in fact it eventually went in the oven at 9:30pm! It was worth the wait however and came out the oven smelling yummy:

 Beer Bread Whole Beer Bread Cut

Look at that! I’ll let you know later what OH thought of it with his lunch.

2 thoughts on “Beer Bread

    1. mssdot Post author

      I can understand why baking bread makes you nervous – my bread was very hit and miss to start with. It helped a lot when I eventually realised I was reading the wrong scale on my scales to weigh out my flour… The bread got a lot better after that! This recipe is definitely a good starter one.

      Reply

Leave a comment